ALFRISTON PARISH COUNCIL

www.alfristonparishcouncil.org.uk

CLERK TO THE COUNCIL

Mrs Victoria Rutt

Telephone - 07936 904743

Email - clerk@alfristonparishcouncil.org.uk

33 Swaines Way Heathfield East Sussex

TN21 OAN

Monday 23rd May 2022

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Alfriston Parish Council (APC) held in the AWMH on Monday 16th May 2022 at 19:15

Present:

Cllr J Watkins Cllr S Daw
Cllr N Beechey Cllr S Rabagliati

Cllr V Cooper Cllr D Monteath-Wilson

Cllr D Bell

In attendance:

Mrs Victoria Rutt - Parish Clerk Approximately 5 members of the public

1. Chairman's welcome

Cllr Watkins welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked them for attending.

2. Public Questions

No public questions.

3. Election of Chairman

Cllr. Monteath-Wilson proposed and Cllr. Daw seconded a motion to elect Cllr. Watkins as Chairman. Councillors resolved that Cllr. Watkins is Chair of Alfriston Parish Council.

4. Declaration of Acceptance of Office by newly appointed Chair

Cllr. Watkins signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

5. Election of Vice Chairman

Cllr. Watkins proposed and Cllr. Cooper seconded a motion to elect Cllr. Beechey as Vice Chairman. Councillors resolved that Cllr. Beechey is Vice Chairman of Alfriston Parish Council.

6. Declaration of Acceptance of Office by newly appointed Vice Chairman

Cllr. Beechey signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

7. Apologies for Absence

No apologies.

8. To agree that Alfriston Parish Council meet the criteria to receive General Power of Competence

Clerk reported that APC have met the criteria to receive General Power of Competence [GPC] due to having a qualified Clerk and being two thirds elected. APC continue to have GPC.

9. Written undertakings to observe Code of Conduct

Written undertakings to observe Code of Conduct were signed and witnessed by the Clerk at the meeting.

10. Register of Members' Interests

Register of Members' interests were signed and handed to the Clerk.

11. Consider allocation of Portfolios

All Councillors were asked if they were happy with their current portfolios. All confirmed they were so they will remain the same as below:

11.1 Allotments - Cllr Cooper

11.2 Public Transport - Cllr Monteath-Wilson

11.3 Highways and Twittens11.4 PlanningCllr RabagliatiCllr Bell

11.5 Rights of Way and Countryside - Cllr Monteath-Wilson

11.6 Strategic Planning - Cllr Daw11.7 The Tye & Recreation Ground - Cllr Beechey

12. Consider membership of Committees

12.1 Finance (4 members) - Cllrs Cooper, Watkins, Beechey and Daw

12.2 Planning (4 members) - Cllrs Bell, Watkins, Beechey and Rabagliati

13. Appointment of representatives to outside bodies

13.1 Wealden District Association of Local Councillors (1 Councillor) - Cllr Daw
 13.2 Sussex Association of Local Councils (1 Councillor for October AGM) - Cllr Cooper

13.3 Twinning Committee (1 representative)

13.4 Cuckmere Community Bus (1 representative)

13.5 Cuckmere Flood Forum (1 representative)

13.6 Tree Warden (1 representative)

- Mr Michael Anderson

- Cllr Monteath-Wilson

- Mr John Hurwood

- Mr Daniel Larkin

13.7 Village Hall Committee (1 representative) - Cllr Daw

13.8 Alfriston & Cuckmere Valley Community First Responders - Mr David Watkins
13.9 Alfriston Emergency Group - Mr Steve Woodgate
13.10 Neighbourhood Watch - Mr Nick Cattell

13.11 St Andrew's - Cllr Daw
13.12 Clergy House - Ms Holly Jones